Centre Français de Recherche de la Péninsule Arabique

Supervisory authorities

CNRS


Search



Home > Accueil : Français > Recherche > Agenda des activités

E-Séance SOCOSMA 9
Religious discourse in the face of Corona in the Arabian Peninsula

published on , updated on

E-Séance SOCOSMA 9 Religious discourse in the face of Corona in the Arabian Peninsula

Le séminaire se tiendra en visioconférence via Zoom entre 14h et 15h heure de Paris (14h Rabat & Tunis, 15h Le Caire & Beyrouth, 16h Koweït, 17h Abu Dhabi & Mascate)
L’inscription est obligatoire. Pour recevoir le lien et mot de passe de la réunion, veuillez écrire en précisant votre affiliation institutionnelle ou universitaire et votre domaine de recherche à socosma@pm.me

Séance du mardi 19 janvier 2021 (CEFREPA)

Rather counter-intuitively, the Corona crisis has somewhat had the effect of relegating religious discourses in the Arabian Peninsula. Indeed, over the course of 2020, states have imposed policies that primarily built their legitimacy on science, technicity and nationalism, often also leading to a momentary suspension of public religious practices due to sanitary concerns. While religious discourse in the Peninsula has been the object of surprisingly little academic or expert knowledge over the last year, the
purpose of this session is to analyze the persistence and deployment of speeches on the pandemic coming from a wide range of Islamic actors.

Religion has indeed appeared as a conduit, albeit certainly not a central one, either to support or criticize public policies or even highlight an allegedly fabricated nature of the Corona virus. Such discourses will be analyzed focusing in particular on the Yemeni case study.

Abdulsalam al-Rubaidi holds a PhD in Near and Middle Eastern Studies from the University of Bonn, Germany, and a master in Arabic Language and Literature from Sana’a University, Yemen. He is a lecturer at the Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies, Faculty of Education at Albaydha University (Yemen). He is the copy editor
of the Arabic publications at Al-Madaniya magazine.

Laurent Bonnefoy is a CNRS researcher a-liated with the Centre
Français de Recherche de la Péninsule Arabique (CEFREPA),
currently a guest researcher at the Omani Studies Center of Sultan
Qaboos University in Muscat. He has wri-en extensively on political and religious movements in the Arabian
Peninsula and is the editor-in-chief of Arabian Humanities journal.

This seminar will be held online in English via Zoom on Tuesday 19 January 2021 at 2pm Paris, Rabat and Tunis time ; 3pm Cairo and Beirut time, 4pm Kuwait and Sana’a time ; 5pm Abu Dhabi and Muscat time. Registration is mandatory. To receive the link and password of the meeting, please register at
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_aUTW1plDSSapEFReAkaZOQ

View online : To receive the link and password of the meeting, please register at