Centre Français de Recherche de la Péninsule Arabique

Nos tutelles

CNRS


Rechercher



Accueil > Accueil : Français > Recherche > Agenda des activités

UPDATE
CEFREPA Lectures
Qur’anic Studies Today : Towards a Hermeneutical Turning-Point ?

publié le

Wednesday, 24 March 2021 via Zoom,
At 4 pm (Paris Time) / 6 pm (Kuwait time) / 7 pm (UAE time)
By Dr. Mehdi Azaiez (UCLouvain, Belgium)

Under the impetus of innovative work, Qur’anic studies have undergone a profound upheaval over the last two decades. The notable expansion of sources (manuscript, epigraphic or archaeological), the contribution of renewed methods of analysis, particularly hermeneutic reflection, have given rise to fertile issues and opened up original perspectives.

Dr. Mehdi Azaiez is Professor of Islamic Studies at the UCLouvain (Belgium). His main fields of research are Qur’anic Studies and early Islam. He published Le Contre-discours coranique (Berlin : Gruyter, 2015) and co-edited the Qur’an Seminar (Berlin : Gruyter, 2016). He was one of the contributors of Le Coran des Historiens (Paris : Le Cerf, 2019) with commentaries of surahs 26-21 ; 78, 90.

This lecture will be held online in English via Zoom.
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_QVbDn7AqQd238yj0lp9rsA

Moderated by
- Dr. Philippe Pétriat (CEFREPA)
Philippe Pétriat is Assistant Professor at the University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne. He specializes in the History of the Arabian Peninsula, and is currently a researcher at the French Research Centre of the Arabian Peninsula (CEFREPA).
- Dr. Abdulla Galabari, Assistant Professor at Khalifa University and the author of Qur’anic Hermeneutics : Between Science, History, and the Bible (2018).

Voir en ligne : Registration link...